Found Wanting: Weekends with Chesterton

“The Christian ideal has not been tried and found wanting; it has been found difficult and left untried.” – Chapter 5, What’s Wrong With The World, 1910

 

See that right up there? That’s a pretty famous phrase said by the pretty famous G.K. Chesterton, whom I love. I highly encourage you to pick up some of his works and begin reading them. I’ve got my hands on a few, and plan to start ASAP.

Think about that quote for a minute. Do you wonder why we have so very many sects of Christianity? Some are so watered down I want to sayChristianity.” It is difficult, Christianity as Christ intended, and so we try to hack it down to fit into our little brains, instead of allowing the greatness of it to magnify our thoughts.

There are those, however, who have not been ‘found wanting.’ Remember the saints. They followed the Christian ideal, difficult though it may be, and became holy.

Every week I try to remember a saint I’m not familiar with on my other blog KNOW YOUR SAINTS! Join me every Sunday as I introduce you to a saint you may not know, and vote for the next saint you want to know about. Be sure to follow me there and share this blog here, and I’ll continue doing what I do best okay.

Have a great weekend everyone!

4 thoughts on “Found Wanting: Weekends with Chesterton

    1. Thank YOU for posting all those free Chestertons on Kindle! Freakin’ GOLD mine! And yeah, I seriously need to start to do some reading of my own here soon or I’ll go bananas… Actually I think I need to write a post about that now! Thanks again…

Leave a Reply

