Baby Sleep Resources & My Two Cents

Hi everyone! Hope you are all doing well.

I’m please to report that Finn slept ok last night, though Sunday night’s shenanigans were not his last. I don’t know what got into that kid. Three nights in a row he was a mess. I even took him to the doctor yesterday, thinking that maybe his ear infection was back. Nope. So a dose of Ibuprofen before bed, and that seemed to do the trick last night. It may have helped that we went out to eat for dinner (neither of us was in a mood to cook or clean), and then he got to bed a bit late.

Unfortunately he didn’t sleep great – he now has the kids’ cold, which produces a copious amount of snot. Oh well. At least we weren’t up constantly, even if he was restless.

Anyways, Finn has never been an awesome sleeper. His personality is such that he can’t miss anything, and will force himself awake if need be. Being a first-time mom, I’ve had my days of desperately searching online with a pot of tea on my desk to try and find help, sympathy and ways to get him to sleep better. Here are a few that I’ve found, along with my commentary on the whole thing.

First, my commentary. If you find yourself like I was, wondering if you’ll ever not feel like a zombie again, listen up. Don’t get so desperate that you do something that geos against your gut. Give it a week. Try things that won’t hurt you or your child’s well-being. Do your research, but take it all in with a grain of salt, and people’s opinions with a heaping tablespoon. Everyone has their own solution, but YOU know YOURSELF and YOUR BABY. Experts don’t know everything, and they don’t know you.

Again, give it a week, and follow your gut. Your mother’s instinct works. Trust in it.

That said, knowledge is power, and, like me going to the doctor just to hear him say that it’s ok to give Finn some pain medicine, since he must be in too much pain to sleep well, it’s ok do to your research and find out what options are out there. Here’s what I’ve found out that may help you.

Sleep/WT Chart – This is a Google Docs page that has a chart of how much sleep babies should get by month. It’s a good way to figure out if your baby is getting the appropriate amount of sleep, if they’re ready to give up a nap time, or if they’re getting too much/too little sleep during the day. Of course these are just averages, but still… helpful.

Arms-Reach Co-Sleeper – This company and their co-sleeper bassinet saved my life. Seriously. Infant wakes up just a bit, boom. You’re right there. Wake up in a panic because baby slept, like, 15 minutes longer than usual. Boom. Hand on chest, everything’s fine, back to sleep. You didn’t even have to get out of bed. It’s a brilliant thing and a beautiful concept. I HIGHLY recommend.

API Baby Sleep Strategies – This is a bit of a cheat, since it’s a link to a page of links, but sometimes these are better than those forums with the moms that say “just let them cry it out! I did! My kid’s fine!” Ug. NOT helpful. These are a bit more gentle and reasonable (and backed by research!)

I think that’s all for today! Did I miss anything? Do you have some great advice I should add to this page? Vehemently disagree with something I’ve got here? Feel free to add it in the comments! And be sure to check out the ‘related articles’ below – I think they reflect kinda what I’ve said here. More help for the sleepless mom and dad!

See you next week!

Leave a Reply

