A Midnight Monkey

Good Tuesday morning everyone! I hope you all have recovered from the festivities of last week and any crazy bargain hunting you may have done. I regret to inform you that I have not. No, I am still trying to put all of my china away, get the Christmas decorations out and the boxes put away, and catch up on my sleep. Whew. Don’t get me wrong; we had a wonderful Thanksgiving. My experimental beet and squash casserole turned out amazing… I will just have to make it again so that I can get pictures and actually post a legitimate recipe. My sister and her boyfriend stayed with us for a couple of days, so Finn got to hang out with his godmother more than he has for a long time. We also got to go out to see Catching Fire while Finn played with his cousins. All in all a busy weekend, but us extroverts had a blast.

Unfortunately, Mike and I aren’t the only ones who haven’t quite recovered yet. You see, with all the excitement and whatnot, our poor little boy has not had a normal bedtime routine for nearly a week. We paid for that Sunday night.

Mike and I were getting to bed quite late. He was getting some housework done, while I was trying to get my KNOW YOUR SAINTS! post up for the first time ever. Better late than never, right? Anyways, by the time I went into our bedroom to nurse Finn before I went to bed, it was nearly midnight. By the way, Finn sleeps in our bedroom still in his own crib. Since he wakes up once or twice a night still (I think he must get thirsty), I have yet to move him clear down the hall to his own room.

While he went to bed early that evening with no problems, he kept waking up and needing attention here and there. He was very restless till about 10:30, when he finally went to sleep, till I went in at about midnight. He was already fussing again, before I even got into the room. Usually after I nurse him he’s back out cold, but this time, though he was quiet, his eyes were wide open, looking around. So I thought “I’ll put him in bed with us, that usually relaxes and reassures him.”

I did, and he laid there. Then he flipped. Then he flopped. Then he hummed to himself. Then he rested for about five or ten minutes. Then flip, flop, hum, drop binki, find binki, rest. Repeat. None of us were getting any sleep. I would shush him, put him on my chest, give him more room, more snuggles, just let him be, everything. And nothing worked. An hour of this, and I was getting very frustrated. He was throwing a little fit, and I was going to throw a bigger one. *Sigh*

At this point Mike tried to pick him up and rock him, and Finn lost it. He was angry crying, and I was ready to do the same. But when Mike took him out of the room, I felt bad, since his alarm was going to go off at 5 AM. So I tried nursing Finn again, gave him some teething gel for his gums, and put him to bed. Then we went to bed too, and listened to our kid do the flip flop hum routine a few times.

As we lay there, we heard him start to crawl around and smack the sides of his crib, but we closed our eyes and tried to ignore him, hoping he would just go to sleep himself. He was talking to himself, bouncing in his bed. Suddenly I hear a binki nearly hit me in the head. We sit up and see Finn jumping in his bed, scream-giggling at us and playing peek-a-boo. We couldn’t help ourselves. We started cracking up.

Honestly, I don’t know what got into him. It’s like he had an espresso at midnight. Sheesh. Anyways, we did the song and dance of rocking him, snuggling with him, consoling him… Finally he ended up resting for a bit on Mike’s chest, but he was very fidgety. I took him and put him between us and he slowly fell asleep. At about 3 AM I woke up and put him back in his crib, hoping to never have to stay up with him like that again.

But just in case, the whole family is going to sleep right after dinner… if we make it that far.

 

Along this same vein, I hope on Thursday to share some baby sleep resources I’ve found on the Internet, along with my two cents on the issue of baby sleep. If you have any resources or advice you would like to share, I would love to hear it! Thanks!

2 thoughts on “A Midnight Monkey

  1. So sorry you had such a bad time. When Chris and Kim were little and we had a lot of company that handled them, I would give them a warm bath and put baby oil all over them and put them in their pjs and they would settled right down. Just a thought.

Leave a Reply

