Thanksgiving Aproacheth

So for the third year in a row, my family’s Thanksgiving celebration is at my house. Which means today’s (and Wednesday’s) posts are going to be fairly short! Don’t get me wrong, I get a lot of help with food, but the house is in need of cleaning and de-cluttering, and with five children running around, well, that’s a full-time job unto itself!

All together I should have about 12 or 13 people at the table (14 with Finn!), which means we need to move our table to the living room so we can expand it fully and get everyone around it. The first year we tried to keep it in the dining room, and it was WAY too tight a squeeze. The only problem is that this year we have a new-to-us VERY heavy Amish made oak table… but Mike assures me we can move it no problem. I trust him. I’ve got a lovely tablecloth and napkins, and I get to use my china! But all that stuff is MINOR compared to what comes next… THE MENU!

Here goes… Ahem…

Drinks include Iced Tea, Apple Cider, Coffee & Hot Tea, and Wine from a lovey local vineyard.

Roasted Turkey

Grilled Turkey wrapped in Bacon (I know, right!?!)

Gravy

Creamed Corn

Sweet Potato (ok, actually butternut squash) Casserole

Creamy Mashed Potatoes

Scalloped Potatoes

Green Bean Casserole

Stuffing (And Gluten Free Stuffing by and for my celiac Mother)

Chicken & Noodles (from Grandma, because of course she makes the best kind)

Applesauce

Pomegranate Cranberry Sauce

Apple Pie

AND whatever pumpkin-y dessert Mom brings. She’s promised more than one, since she had a copious amount of pumpkin in her garden this year.

OH, she’s also bringing appetizers, but I expect those will get eaten with some turkey sandwiches later in the evening, since I hope for us all to hang out, play games, and just enjoy each other’s company.

However, all the above nonsense will take place on FRIDAY, since we are going to Mike’s family’s Thanksgiving feast on Thursday. For them I hope to make what I hope to be the first recipe here on Sheridanigans… Wait for it…

Red Beet and Butternut Squash Casserole with Caramelized Bacon

The only problem is that this idea is all in my head, and I haven’t actually made it yet, ever.  So you’re probably going to have to wait till after Thanksgiving for that one. That way you’ll have pictures to go along with the recipe. Hopefully.  

BUT none of that will happen if I don’t get cracking! Feel free to share your plans and menus in the comments! 

Leave a Reply

