I AM Catholic

So I realized that the last time I proclaimed that “I AM” something, I was telling you that I am a childcare professional. It made sense to start off with that since it’s kindof the reason to start this blog, and it’s what makes up the majority of who I am and what I do right now. But I would be remiss if I never told you about a part of me that influences my every waking moment, and has shaped my life in ways I have yet to understand. I am in love with it. It’s very exciting. It’s challenging. It’s something that makes me better and better. It’s given me every good thing that I have in life. Are you ready? Can you guess what it is?

You can?

Oh… my title gave it away? Well shoot.

Hey! You’re still reading, are you, even after you learned that I AM CATHOLIC!?  Good for you! Are you Catholic too? (and if not, how come?) You should tell me in the comments! Because we’re everydangedwhere. Worldwide, baby. You know that’s what Catholic means, right? Universal? No? Well now you do!

Honestly, I can’t imagine being anything else. I’m what you call a ‘cradle Catholic,’ meaning I was raised from birth in the Church by my parents. Not all of us cradle Catholics stay so strong in the faith, but by the Grace of God, I did. I attended Catholic school for grade school, where my faith was first stirred and introduced. I went to a Catholic high school, where my faith was cemented. I even went to a Catholic college, the awesome Franciscan University of Steubenville. It’s so much a part of me, I don’t even know where to start to talk about it, or explain anything about it. So I suppose if you have any questions for me, feel free to ask (By the way, have you seen my new ‘about me’ page?), since I wouldn’t know where to begin.

Mostly I just want to put this out there so you’ll understand where I’m coming from when I talk about saying the blessing before lunch with the kids, going to Mass on Sunday, etc etc. In fact, I thought today was an excellent day to tell/warn you about my beloved Catholicism because it’s All Saints Day! YAY!!

Why is this such an awesome day? It’s like celebrating all the birthdays of my best friends all at once. It IS celebrating those who were victorious in their battle, who fought the ‘good fight’ and won! In fact, if you celebrated Halloween, you celebrated with the Catholic Church – that is, you celebrated the Eve of All Hallows (‘hallows’ meaning ‘holy’). You celebrated the “e’en” of the Holy ones – the saints! … it’s an Old English thing!

Sorry for all the exclamation points!  … I get a bit excited about the faith. Anyways…

Now, we know of specific people who are in heaven now and are exemplars of the faith. They got into heaven SO HARD they can tell us about it, so we know for sure that they’re there. We can look up to them and ask them to pray for us by name. They usually get their own feast day.

BUT obviously we don’t know all those that made it to heaven, so we just sort of gave them all one day to celebrate, and that day is today! So let’s give a shout out to our friends in the Church victorious!

 

St. Anthony! Pray for us!

St. Therese of Liseux! Pray for us!

St. Francis! Pray for us!

St. Faustina! Pray for us!

St. Maxamillian Kolbe! Pray for us!

St. Elizabeth Ann Seton! Pray for us!

St. Michael the Archangel! Pray for us!

St. Katharine Drexel! Pray for us!

St. Peter! Pray for us!

St. Claire! Pray for us!

St… Ok, I could go on forEVER! Put your shout out in the comments! They’re closer to God than we are, let’s keep asking them to pray for us!

 

And finally, Blessed Virgin Mary, watch over us, remember us, and most of all, PRAY FOR US!

2 thoughts on “I AM Catholic

  1. I find this topic quite interesting. I too am a cradle Catholic. For 26 years of my life, I never once knew the hostility towards Catholics. Once I started looking into it, researching the theology behind the faith, I was amazed to hear other Christian religions forming “anti-Catholic” groups within their own church. This stunned me because never once in my 26 years of going to mass have I ever heard a negative word spoke of another faith, Christian or not. I just couldn’t believe another Christian church would try so hard to prove another Christian church they’re wrong. Thus this made me love the Catholic Church even more because we are taught to love, help, forgive anyone no matter what faith, nationality, sexual preference they are. My girlfriend decided this year she too wants to become Catholic after coming to many masses with me. When she tells friends she is going through RCIA to become a confirmed Catholic, you would think she just told them she’s joining the Mexican drug Cartel based off their reaction. With responses “are you serious?!” and “why?!” being two most common. Her and I have both learned, with the questions that follow with the above reactions, that nearly all negative comments of the Church are based off false information or lack of knowledge of the faith. Comments such as “Catholics don’t read the bible” or “Catholics worship Saints and Mary on the same level as God” or “you get turned down from their church service if you show cleavage” or my favorite “if it’s truly the blood and body then it must taste like blood and human meat”. All the negative comments I have received about my faith has only strengthened my faith ten fold because I realized how Holy and true the Church truly is. And when we respond or answer their questions, they almost always reply with “Oh… I didn’t know, that makes sense.” I find it sad Christians are starting to conceal their faith and in some instances are nervous to have certain friends and family know about their faith. Especially when Christian values teach so much good morals. I thank the media mostly for this.

    But it’s pride and comments like yours that make me smile and help me strengthen my faith even more because I know my final resting place will be filled with people like you. And when a stranger sneezes and I say “God Bless you” and they get offended, I will forgive them for their nasty remarks and say a silent prayer for them. As Jesus once said “Father forgive them, for they know not what they do.”

    Thanks for sharing Sheri! And Happy All Saints Day to you and your family!

Leave a Reply

