I AM a Childcare Professional! (Part Two)

I think I am...
I think I am…

** Catch Part One Here**

For the past two (and a half now goodgravy…) years I’ve been a nanny for one family of four children. These kids have grown up with me at least a little bit (come on now, two years is, like, FOREVER, when you’re a toddler), having to deal with me from morning to evening every single day.

Poor kids.

BUT I always said I loved them like my own… that is, till I had my own, and THAT concept went out the window (If you have kids, you’ll understand). I still TREAT them like my own, and that’s half-way to loving them like my own, if you ask me. I do love them dearly, but they can’t compare to my little boy. And now they all play together like substitute siblings, in my house (I’m a spoiled nanny, I know). And none of them have died or even been severely injured!*  We all get along and are happy with each other, despite the little upsets, boo-boos, and tears that come from growing up. I think it’s a pretty good situation we all have going for us.

*On my watch anyways…Ok, there was that ONE time with the boy, but he was being an obnoxious/adventurous toddler, so it was unavoidable, really,and he wasn’t even severely injured …

So I’m a stay at home mom, with an asterisk that says “and nanny… it’s complicated.” But really it’s not. The kids love me, and I love them, and we have good days and bad days. They need to be reminded how to be good, and they surprise me with their goodness. Every day has its own insanity, but I wouldn’t have it any other way.

Throughout all of these experiences, since I was just a kid, I’ve learned a thing or two about kids outside of being one myself. Heck, half of it, I think, is just remembering what it was like to be a little one yourself and to put yourself in their shoes. So I suppose I’ll share these tricks, ideas, anecdotes or whatever. If there’s something that you would like to see here, be it a question on staying sane when your kid goes through the destructive or “Why?” phase, or just what to make for dinner, feel free to drop me a line. I’m sure I’ll need some ideas and direction eventually!

Until next time… 🙂

Leave a Reply

