I AM a Childcare Professional! (Part One)

I think I am...

Yesterday I was thinking about what to write for my next post, and I had a bit of an existential crisis. Don’t be too surprised; this happens more frequently when you have tiny ones who are trying to figure out who they are, surrounding you on a daily basis. Ask any mom. Fortunately it didn’t last long, since I just didn’t have time to dwell on it.

The crisis-that-wasn’t centered around whether or not I was at all qualified to even give or tell my anecdotes or advice of any sort. After all, I’m only a mother of one, and he’s still just a babe. But then Boundless Confidence (we’re good friends. He visits me every so often) came to my rescue, and I laughed. I am MORE than qualified, he said. Heck, girl, (he’s kinda sassy) you’re OVER qualified. And here’s why…

I started paying attention to what my mom did with my siblings as soon as I was no longer the first child. Sure, when my little sister came along, my “help” was as that of a displaced four-year-old princess, but the point is that I tried. When my little brother came along, I was changing diapers, helping feed him, etc, and by the time my REALLY little brother surprised us, well, let’s just say that kid didn’t have two older sisters – he had three mothers. Kid didn’t stand a chance.

In high school I became very aware that I loved to see people ‘get it’ in the classroom, and to that end, I studied in college to become a teacher. Middle school was my aim because, I told myself, they’re young enough to mold before becoming jaded, but old enough to grasp higher concepts. Whatever. I went to an awesome college and learned things that I’m using even now, but we’ll get to that in a moment. Or maybe in another post. We shall see

During my experience as a teacher, I came to realize that there wasn’t an age or stage of childhood that I didn’t like interacting with. All children are basically good at every age, you just need to understand their behavior and respond appropriately, even if it seems harsh, or they’re acting belligerent. I wasn’t a teacher long, though, and God told me pretty bluntly that I’m not meant to be a teacher in a classroom setting (at least right now). But that’s definitely a WHOLE ‘nuther post, my friends.

This is getting long, isn’t it?? We shall continue this saga tomorrow…. Stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

